About Us

We are one of more than 200 Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCG) around the UK who are responsible for planning healthcare for its local population. This includes hospital and community services on behalf of the local community as well as GP practice services.

What is a Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)?

The CCG buys health care services based on the health needs of the local population. Clinical commissioning is the term we use to describe how an organisation (the commissioner) first identifies the health needs of a population and then sets about a process to appoint other organisations (providers) to supply services to meet these needs. We have a duty to ensure that the services we commission are high quality, safe, local and accessible and also good value for money. The types of service we commission include:

  • Most local hospital care, for example, A&E, outpatients, tests and operations
  • Most mental health care including both GP based services and hospital-based services
  • Most community services for example district nurses, matrons and physiotherapy

We do not commission all health services. In these cases NHS England has the responsibility:

  • GPs, Dentists, Opticians & Pharmacists
  • Specialist Services, for example, cardiac & neurosurgery or transplant surgery.

Who are NHS St Helens CCG?

NHS St Helens CCG is committed to working with our colleagues at the local authority, local hospital trusts and our provider colleagues to make a difference to improve the health of local people.

We are a membership organisation made up of 33 GP practices. We cover the geographical area of St Helens which includes the areas Sutton, St Helens, Earlestown, Rainhill, Eccleston, Clock Face, Haydock, Billinge, Rainford and Newton-le-Willows.

NHS St Helens CCG falls entirely within the boundary of St Helens Council and covers a population of approximately 178,000 people with a budget of around £226.3 million.

Click here for a copy of NHS St Helens CCG's Constitution.

The CCG organisational structure can be seen here and is comprised of three clinical directorates:

  • Quality
  • Medicines Management
  • Safeguarding

And six non-clinical directorates:

  • Children’s Integrated Commissioning
  • Integrated Adults Commissioning
  • Primary Care
  • Finance
  • Corporate Governance/Engagement and Involvement
  • Contracting